Skip to content

Getting burnt by publish-without-saving in WordPress

I apologize to anyone that read my last post and found it abruptly ending. I just got burnt trying to write some long additions to my last blog post then promptly hit publish assuming I was done.

What I did NOT realize, is that Publish in WordPress does NOT mean:

  1. Save current contents in the text edit window
  2. Publish updated content to blog

What it DID do was

  • Publish to blog last saved contents for post

That would not have been so bad if I didn’t lose 3 paragraphs that I entered into the text edit window WITHOUT saving. I guess from now on I will be hitting ‘Save’ every other minute to ensure I have a not so old snapshot of my current blog post.

Be Sociable, Share!