1984 Perps Win Elections

May 14, 2004 | Comments Off on 1984 Perps Win Elections

The Congress Party swept Delhi, along with the rest of India.  Sajjan Kumar and Jagdish Tytler, widely cited as perpetrators of the 1984 pogroms against Sikhs by survivors and witnesses, both won in their constituencies:

In his win, Jagdish Tytler has not only exorcised the ghosts of the 1984 anti-Sikh riots, he has come back with a bang. So has party colleague, Sajjan Kumar, who bulldozed into Sahib Singh’s citadel with a 2.24 lakh winning margin….

This time, because of the ongoing inquiry against him [Tytler] by the Nanavati Commission, announcement of his name was followed by a systematic campaign against him, recounting his “role” in the riots.

Kumar and Tytler are now being considered for the Council of Ministers, despite the Nanavati Commission’s issuance of Section 8B notices against them regarding their roles in the 1984 pogroms:

The Commission headed by Justice G T Nanavati had issued notices to them and 23 others under the Commission of Inquiry Act asking them to produce evidence in their defence as it felt their reputation was likely to be “prejudicially affected” by the Inquiry report.

RK Anand, the lawyer who defended the Delhi Administration and perpetrators of the carnage, represented the sole Congress defeat in Delhi.


You must be logged in to post a comment.

Name (required)

Email (required)


Speak your mind